## **Credit system**

## **Credit system**

Charles University uses the ECTS (European Credit Transfer System). The ECTS is a credit system based on relative student workload. This involves lectures, practicals, and self-study and includes all the work required to prepare for examinations.

The basic allocation of academic credits in ECTS is 60 credits per year of studies, i.e. 30 credits per semester. Where a course is completed by a study requirement other than an examination (e.g. course work or a seminar paper), it is not graded, but is recorded as a Zápočet (Credit), with only two possible outcomes: Pass or Fail.

The number of credits earned is checked at the end of each academic year in September. This means that you can stagger the requirements in the winter and the summer semester according to your preferences. For example, you can complete only 20 credits in the winter semester and 40 credits in the summer semester. However, it is recommended that you complete the requirements on a continuous basis so that you earn approximately 30 credits each semester.

To graduate, a total of 180 credits is required for the entire study.

## Number of credits needed for going to the next year

	1st year	2nd year	3rd year	4rd year
The minimum number of credits	50	100	150	160
The standard number of credits	60	120	180	180